Shingwauk Kinoomaage Gamig

Board of Directors

Lyle Sayers (Chair)

Lyle Sayers is a 3rd generation descendant of Chief Shingwauk. With a background in finance and experience working in banks, Lyle was Director of Finance for Assembly of First Nations for 10 years and Chief of Garden River First Nation for 20 years.

Dianne Roach (Vice-Chair)

Dianne Roach, a member of Garder River First Nation, is currently the Education Manager at the Garden River Education Unit.

Shirley Roach (Elder

Shirley Roach is Shingwauk Residential School Survivor and Elder in Garden River First Nation. She is the spiritual advisor to the SKG Board and counsels SKG and Algoma U. Anishinaabe students.

Harry Huskins

Archdeacon Dr. Harry Huskins, M.A., LL.M., Th.D. - Representing the Anglican Church’s diocese of Algoma, one of the four Partners of the Shingwauk Education Trust, on the Trust’s Board and a member of the SKG’s Board of Directors. Huskins has served on a number of provincial and federal government committees including Judicial Appointments and Restorative Justice Development. He writes in the fields of history and law.

Justin Marchand

Justin Marchand is Métis including Algonquin and Mik'maq ancestry. He is Executive Director of Ontario Aboriginal Housing Services. He is also a Certified Professional Accountant and a Chartered Member of the Chartered Institute of Housing.

Chief Dean Sayers

Chief Sayers has been chief for Batchewana First Nation and the Chief for Association of Iroquois and Allied Indians.

Cathy Syrette

Cathy Syrette, a member of Batchewana First Nation, is currently the Executive Director at the Indian Friendship Centre in Sault Ste. Marie

Angus Toulouse

Angus Toulouse served as elected Chief of Chiefs of Ontario, and Chief of Sagamok Anishinabek First Nation for 11 years. He has served as chairman of the North Shore Tribal Council and Lake Huron Region Grand Chief for the Union of Ontario Indians. Angus is currently the Chief Executive Officer of Mamaweswen (North Shore Tribal Council).